8 Mumbai Train Stations Renamed: Know what their names are going to be

Mumbai train station

Ahmednagar district will be called Ahilya Nagar and eight railway stations in Mumbai will also be renamed.

A meeting was held under the chairmanship of Hon’ble Chief Minister regarding renaming of railway stations in Mumbai following the rules of Ministry of Home Affairs and guidance of Railway Board. The state government has the right to change the name of the station.

  1. Charni road to be renamed as Girgaon
  2. Mumbai central to be renamed as Nana jagannath shankarsheth stn
  3. Sandhurst road to be renamed as Dongri
  4. Marine lines to be renamed as mumbadevi
  5. Cotton green to be renamed as kala chowky
  6. Currey road to be renamed as Lalbaug
  7. Dockyard road to be renamed as Mazgaon
  8. King’s circle to be renamed as Tirthankar parshvanath

These proposals, which were earlier delayed, have now been approved. Union Home Minister Amit Shah stressed the importance of completing these changes immediately to respect public sentiments. The meeting also highlighted the historical precedent of such name changing decisions during the British era.

maharastra train station
Image by jeswin on Freepik

The proposal to rename the stations is awaiting final approval from the Cabinet. The proposal is part of an ongoing effort since 2017 to rename stations under the ‘Viksit Bharat’scheme. The move is seen as a step towards highlighting India’s heritage, and there could be more such changes in the future.

Process of Changing Railway Station Names?

The process of changing the name of the railway station starts by the state government. The state government requests that the railways change their names. The Railway Board demands an NOC from the Home Ministry. The Home Ministry also approaches the Railway Board to change the name of the railway station. To make these changes, there is no need to pass any kind of resolution in the Assembly and Lok Sabha.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: